Maes Dulyn Penygroes Gwynedd LL54 6RW



Headquartered at Penygroes in the Nantlle valleyof the old Caernarfonshire,Nantlle vale were originally one of the oldest 'Welsh League' clubs.

The club itself has been in existance for many years. Once they were the only senior club between Caernarfon and Porthmadog. Enthusiasm runs high for the club, not only in Penygroes but throughout the nearby slate quarrying villages from which they derive their support.
Football has been played in Penygroes since the late 1880's. The older folk still talk about those teams and the player's exploits. The team was originally known as Penygroes United but became Nantlle Vale FC for the start of the 1920/21 season where they joined the old North Wales Coast League. Later they became members of the Gwyrfai League, winning the championship in 1924.

Following the Second World War the club joined the Bangor & District League (now known as the Caernarfon & District League). Later they became members of the Welsh League (Division II - East). They twice won the championship.

Also in that era they were finalists in the North Wales coast F.A Amateur Cup and the Junior Cup. The club also won the Second Division Challange Cup, beating a strong Holyhead side in the final.
In the season 1959/60 the Vale won the double of the Welsh League North Championship and the Cookson Cup, they also gained a hatrick of Amateur Cup wins in the mid 1970's. Orig Williams and Idris Evans (Tarw Nefyn) dominated the referee's note book during the late '70's.
The Gwynedd League Championship & the Eryri Shield was won during the 1987/88 season whilst the Moorings Cup was won twice during the '90's. Also during the late nineties a decision was made to pull out of the Welsh Alliance League to concentrate on developing the Youth teams, a gamble which paid off handsomely as the honours won during the millennium was quite an achevement.

Nantlle Vale had an extremly successful 2000/01 season culminating in winning promotion back to the Gwynedd League by winning the Caernarfon & District Championship. They also claimed a cup double - the North Wales Junior Cup beating Llanysumdwy and the Ffilmiau'r Nant Moorings Cup beating Porthmadog.

Season 2001/02 Yielded the Barritt Cup (by beating Bodedern at Farrar Road) for the first time followed by the President Cup in season 2002/03 (by beating Llanrwst Utd also at Farrar Road).
Since then, difficult times have been endured on the honours front, mainly due to funds being raise for major ground improvements and the lack of players in the Valley.


Gwyrfai League Winners 1924
Welsh League Champions (East) Second Division- Twice
Challange Cup Winners
Lleyn & District Cup Winners 1938/39
Cooks Cup Winners 1938/39
Welsh League Champions (North) Division 1 - 1959/60
Cookson Cup Winners 1959/60 (League & Cup Double)
Amateur Cup Winners 1973/74
Gwynedd League Champions 1987/88
Snodonia Shield Champions 1997/88
Moorings Cup Winners 1989/90
Moorings Cup Winners 1999/00
Caernarfon & District Winners 2000/01
North Wales Junior Cup Winners 2000/01
Moorings cup Winners 2000/01
Barritt Cup Winners 2001/02
President cup Winners 2002/03

Upcoming Fixtures

Sat 20 Aug
Sat 27 Aug

Latest Results

Tue 16 Aug
4 – 0 W
Sat 13 Aug
2 – 3 W
Wed 10 Aug
1 – 2 W

Lock Stock Welsh Alliance Football League newsletter

Keep up-to-date with our exclusive email newsletters.